Tuesday
Nov 21st
Home अन्तर्वार्ता Interview with Mr. Mahabir Pun

Interview with Mr. Mahabir Pun

E-mail Print PDF
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Friday, 28 December 2007 
Interviewed by - Priyata Thapa, Source : Nebraska Nepalese Society 

Question: Being an international student myself, I have had experiences of culture shock. Can you describe to us your transition from being a student in a Nepali village to being an undergraduate student in an advanced country like the United States?
Answer:
When I came to Kearney first, I was quite matured- about 32. Maybe that’s why; I didn’t have much of the culture shock experience.

Question: Wasn’t it a difficult task to teach the students of Nangi village to build a computer where most of them had hardly seen it?
Answer:
I don’t think it is that difficult a job. I believe that anybody can learn to do that within a couple of days, if they have attained middle or high school education and they have the enthusiasm to learn. In fact, many of them can not only assemble a computer but can also help in troubleshooting problems or in wireless configuration.

Question: How does the older generation of Nangi Village respond to this accomplishment or this project?
Answer:
The older generation is happy to see their children get the opportunity to learn about this new technology that assists people in so many ways. They are glad that the residents are able to use computers and its benefits; older people may not be able to use computer themselves but they get help from their children in sending messages and other activities.

Question: How many awards have you achieved so far? Had you imagined of all these achievements? Did you think you would achieve the Ramon Magsaysay award?
Answer: